The Assassin’s Mark by David Ebsworth

The Assassin's MarkA Christie-esque thriller set on a battlefield tour bus towards the end of the Spanish Civil War.

September 1938. Spain’s Civil War has been raging for two years, the outcome still in the balance. But rebel General Franco is so confident of winning that he has opened up battlefield tourism along the country’s north coast.

Jack Telford, a left-wing reporter, finds himself with an eccentric group of tourists on one of the War Route’s yellow Chrysler buses. Driven by his passion for peace, Telford attempts to uncover the hidden truths beneath the conflict.

But Jack must contend first with his own gullibility, the tragic death of a fellow passenger, capture by Republican guerrilleros, a final showdown at Spain’s most holy shrine and the possibility that he has been badly betrayed. Betrayed and in serious danger.

This book was the first one for me to review this year. I was thrilled when the author asked me to read his story and I am glad that I agreed!

From opening the first page, I walked through the door into a world  I knew nothing about; or rather it has been years since I’d thought about – the Spanish War. As a matter of fact, I don’t remember anything from school about this particular event. Yet thanks to the author, I felt like I was there. I found myself googling titbits to get more information because I wanted to know more (and this is great!) I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat,  I took my e-reader to places it shouldn’t have been – thanks to this story. It was hard to put down!

The Assassin’s Mark a well written read that included a healthy dose of mystery, intrigue, mystery, suspense and sex. As a reporter, it was extra special to be able to connect with the lead character Jack Telford.

I highly recommend this novel to anyone looking for a great mystery set during a part of history that very few people know or talk about. Cudos to the author for wetting my appetite and making me want to know more.

One response to “The Assassin’s Mark by David Ebsworth

  1. Hi Marianne. Great to be in Manitoba and thanks for arranging this much-needed stop. This is Day Ten of the virtual book tour and going well up to now. I’ll be around also to pick up any comments or queries from your readers. Really glad that you liked the book. Wonderful review and a wonderful site!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

