Beg: A Radical New Way of Regarding Animals by Rory Freedman

Beg: A Radical New Way of Regarding AnimalsRory Freedman, co-author of the #1 New York Times mega-seller Skinny Bitch, returns with a call-to-arms to all animal lovers.
So many of us call ourselves animal lovers and worship our dogs and cats—but we could be using that love as a force for helping all animals. Beg is a battle cry on their behalf, as well as an inspirational, empowering guide to what we can do to help them. With the same no-nonsense tone that made Skinny Bitch a multi-million copy success, Beg galvanizes us to change our choices and actions, and to love animals in a radical new way.

On behalf of every dog (or cat) in the world THANK YOU for this book!!!

I didn’t really know what I was getting when I asked to review this book but from page 1 I was not disappointed (it is also the first book I have read on this subject). The author’s sense of humour combined with her own personal experiences makes this book a must read for anyone considering adopting a pet for the first time or the tenth.

This is such an important book – from pointing out why adoption from rescues should be the preferred method of pet adoption to explaining the differences between buying from a breeder or pet store – it makes you think and rethink previous pet adoptions and future adoptions. Hopefully along with that rethinking, it does the job by convincing pet owners to be more responsible towards our four legged bundles of love instead of considering them as disposable as last year’s furniture.

Over the past few years, I have become what I never expected to be – a doggy mom, lover and advocate (I am owned by two dogs that were rescued by me before they got dumped at shelters). I have become disgusted watching friends and family BUY when there are rescues flying in dogs from up north (I live in Manitoba) that are subjected to yearly stray dog culls. This is a way of life and the people up don’t even blink when it happens. Yet it is 100 percent preventable!

The second half of this book focused on the rest of the animal kingdom. It is a call to arms against zoos, circuses, factory farms, fishing, hunting, trapping, bull fighting, dog races, horse races, carriage rides, animals in movies – basically any practice that animals can suffer, be injured or killed. A self-professed vegan, the author encourages people to realize that “suffering is suffering” and the way we treat animals (including those we eat) is deplorable.

While I am on the fence regarding going vegan (I was raised on a small dairy and hobby farm and we did none of the things described in the book), I have a daughter who adopted the vegan lifestyle about five years ago. Reading this portion helped educate me on her viewpoint. While I am not sure I would swear off meat (which I rarely eat anyways) it makes me more inclined to raise a few chickens in my garage to ensure that my eggs are gathered in a humane way.

This book needs to be read by anyone who claims to be an animal lover; especially by newbie pet owners. As the title implies, there are animals who “Beg” just to be loved, appreciated and to have a life – we owe the fur-balls that commitment. We created this madness of the pedigree animal and millions of animals suffer because they don’t fit in that category. Animals are powerless – we are not.

Beg is an educational manual that should be placed in the hands of every single person who claims that they love animals; it will make you think twice the next time you buy a pet, go clothes shopping or pick up the weekly groceries.

Leave a Reply

