April Raintree by Beatrice Culleton

April Raintree

A revised version of the novel In Search of April Raintree, written specifically for students in grades 9 through 12. Through her characterization of two young sisters who are removed from their family, the author poignantly illustrates the difficulties that many Aboriginal people face in maintaining a positive self-identity.

Several years ago, my oldest daughter suggested that I should read this book. It sounded interesting but I never picked it up. Then this spring, I published my own memoir. Soon I had people who read my book make comparisons to April Raintree. I even had a school division approach me, telling me their students were studying April Raintree in class and they wanted me to come and share my story with the student. With cudos like that, I had to pick myself up a copy, and I finally did.

I have to say, I want to first thank the author. While our stories are different, they are also very the much the same. As a former ward of CFS in Winnipeg, I can empathize with the authors frustration and devastation she suffered at the hands of the system.

Thank you for telling your story. It opens the doors for others. Nobody ever wants to talk about these things and its about time someone finally does.

Leave a Reply

