Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher, or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, helped you see the world as a more profound place, gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it.

For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Tuesdays with Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie’s lasting gift with the world.

In 2005, I went back to school – i was 38 years old, a single mom of 4 and i was a former high school dropout. I am proud to say that I graduated that year, the same time as my oldest daughter. Prior to graduating, i had to take several english classes; in one, we had to read Tuesdays with Morrie ~ I LOVED IT and devoured every single word.

Afterwards we were told to write our life stories, using the format of taking a particular incident in our lives and tell how it changed our lives. I couldnt tell my story in 1,500 words or less. I submitted over 7,000 words, using the recent find of my adoptive mother in the hospital. We had been estranged for several years because she was highly abusive and i had to walk away for my own sanity. My subsequent reactions and emotions came as a surprise so i was eager to examine this further. When I got my assignment back, my teacher only had one comment – she couldnt grade it, and she encouraged me to explore it further and one day publish it.

Fast forward to 2012, and I did just that. This spring I published Finding Gloria- my personal memoir of survival. So many things happened to me after 2005, that my entire life was turned upside down. I was able to finally find the healing i needed after decades of abuse, self loathing and deprivation.

So yes, I have to say THANK YOU – if it hadnt been for Tuesdays with Morrie, I would never have learned how to tell a good memoir – and while my story is far from perfect, I can proudly say that it is changing people’s lives, encouraging the voiceless to speak out and touching people around the world.

Leave a Reply

