After the Fire by Fred Bubbers

After The Fire: A Personal Essay

A memoir about a writing workshop and the teacher whose lessons on the art of fiction and the art of living continue to teach and inspire thirty years later.

I enjoyed this story because it put me in a place where I could imagine what it would be like for a person such as myself to walk into a university and try to sign up for a writing class. I have wanted to do so, but even after published several thousand articles in a monthly paper, I STILL question my actual skill enough to be too cowardly to submit my work for other people’s criticism (yet I have since published four books) It seems like no matter how long or much we write, we are still our worst critics and hearing what other people think about our work both validates our pieces and our talent. I am glad the author continues to write and I am eager to check out his other work.

Leave a Reply

